Lucy Liu Joins CBS Sherlock Holmes Pilot ‘Elementary’ — as Watson

Elementary, my dear Watson? Hardly. Lucy Liu has joined the cast of CBS’ Sherlock Holmes-drama pilot — as Holmes’ assistant Watson. Who traditionally has been portrayed by, you know, male actors. With “Charlie’s Angels” star Liu in the role, Watson is being re-envisioned as Joan Watson, who lives with Holmes in modern-day New York. “Trainspotting” […]

Continue Reading

CBS Picks Up Sherlock Holmes Revamp and Legal Drama Pilots

Sherlock Holmes is relocating from 221B Baker St. to an as-yet-undisclosed address in New York City. CBS has greenlighted two new pilots, with one of them being a revamp that will place the legendary sleuth in modern-day New York. (Perhaps, while he’s there, he can solve the Mystery of Why the Rent Is Too Damn […]

Continue Reading

Sherlock Holmes, Clinton, Gates on PBS

By David Bauder, AP Television Writer NEW YORK — There’s good news for fans of Sherlock Holmes and “Downton Abbey”: They’re both coming back to PBS next year. A two-part examination of Bill Clinton‘s presidency, a look at some celebrity family trees by Louis Gates and a series on American infrastructure hosted by a former […]

Continue Reading

Rising Brit Star Adds Sizzle to ‘Sherlock Holmes’

BY: Lynn Elber LOS ANGELES – Benedict Cumberbatch‘s pals call him Ben. Viewers of his TV performance as a 21st-century Sherlock Holmes tend to favor “brilliant.” The British TV audience went mad this summer for the three-part ‘Sherlock‘ series in which Cumberbatch makes Holmes the very model of a modern private detective, with the character’s […]

Continue Reading