Come here often? Make your homepage » close

Get instant access to Download the XFINITY® One Click Google extension» close


Your XFINITY Connect session has timed out due to inactivity. Click here to go back close Food Labels Decoded

11 of 13


What it means: The product contains no gluten, a protein found in wheat and other grains.

The health implications: Gluten (found in wheat, barley, rye, and their derivatives) can cause damage to the intestines of those with celiac disease, a digestive disorder. People who have wheat allergies may also seek gluten-free foods.

Keep in mind: While “gluten-free” means there’s no wheat, items listed as
“wheat-free” aren’t necessarily gluten-free. Look on the ingredient list for rye, barley, malt, malt syrup, malt extract, and malt vinegar, all of which can contain gluten.

Bottom line: If you have celiac disease or wheat allergies, consider gluten-free products.


The opinions expressed are solely those of the author and do not necessarily reflect the views of Comcast.

Ad Info - Ad Feedback

Ad Info - Ad Feedback